My Candidate Statement

This is my candidate statement that will go out with the voting papers. Note that candidates are kept to a word limit.

I bring visibility, experience and forward-thinking to the mayoralty.

We need leadership that unites the District and doesn’t divide one part of the community from another. The mayor needs to be visible everywhere in the District and be available to the community.

We also need leadership that knows the community through the deep involvement in a wide range of community groups that I have had. 

As Mayor I would know what I am doing.  I offer 21 years’ experience as a Councillor, including six as Deputy Mayor and twelve chairing finance committees.  This experience will enable me to cope with the challenges of growth and with a changing local government environment.  

Waimakariri is a great place.  I will bring to the mayoralty the forward-thinking that will enable us to work together to make it an even better District in which to live, do business and farm. 

Go to davidayers.wordpress.com

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “My Candidate Statement”

  1. Annette Paterson Says:

    Thanks David for the election information – I’ve been looking in vain in the local papers recently for some of this. No doubt it will eventually get there!!
    I was also interested to read your candidate statement. Yes, we need a mayor who is more visible in the community and I’m sure you will make a great mayor.

    Thanks Annette.

Leave a Reply

