The Waimakariri Mayoral Race Gets Under Way – Sort Of

In the New Year, Peter Wakeman announced that he was standing for both the Waimakariri and Christchurch mayoralties.  (He stood unsuccessfully for the Waimakariri mayoralty at the last election.) This was a somewhat early entry into the race, and I have to wonder if Peter considers himself to be a really serious contender.  In my observation (and I’ve done plenty of observing), the Waimakariri mayor’s job needs to be treated as a full-time position – and Christchurch would be even more demanding.

How anyone could be two mayors at once and do the jobs properly beats me.

A lot of people have asked me if I would stand or am standing for the Waimakariri mayoralty.  My answer is, Peter Wakeman notwithstanding,  that  it’s a bit early to make official announcements.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

